Ready to Go

Wednesday, Dec. 29, 2004
8:27 p.m.

OK, since this has obviously become a pregnancy diary, here's what is new:

I bought a pressure glove for my right hand. It's actually helping out! It relieves about 50% of the numbness and pain, especially while I am on the computer. Also, after researching the reasons for carpal tunnel during pregnancy, I came across a brilliant idea. Since it is so painful at night because fluid gets a chance to circulate through my body, rather than getting stuck in my legs like it does all day, I thought I probably had too much fluid in my arms. So, last night, when my arms hurt, I threw them above my head so the fluid could drain out and that actually took a lot of the pain away, though not all of the numbness. At the very least, I was able to fall back to sleep! Hooray!

Yesterday afternoon, I had a midwife appointment. She guessed the baby's weight at about 6 pounds. While she was measuring me from pubic bone to top of uterus, she got a really large reading. It turns out I was having a contraction! I didn't feel it at all. I mean, it felt like a little bit of tightening, but that happens about a zillion times a day! I had to get my GBS screen. Thankfully, it was only a vaginal swab, not cervical, so no speculum! Hooray! Also, the midwife checked my cervix and said it felt like it was softening up but there has not yet been any effacement. She prescribed Evening Primrose Oil and I should start taking it at week 36. Apparently, it helps to soften up the cervix. So, I found the capsules at the drug store. Yaaaay! I didn't have to go to some health food store or herb store. I guess it's mainstream enough now? She also told me how Greg should do perineal massage and the details about it. Fun stuff. Oh, and she could definitely feel that Falcon has flipped over and is now head-down. When she felt my belly for his position, I could tell. It was cool! While feeling my cervix, she said she could feel his head right on the other side, too, which was cool. I think that since he's flipped over, he's managed to settle into my pelvis a little more. I wouldn't go so far as to say he's engaged or "dropped", but he certainly feels more in postion than before!

OK, I'm so ready, child! I can have you any day now!!!

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga