Value-Based Happiness

Monday, Dec. 06, 2004
5:50 p.m.

I'm a little embarrassed about my entry last night. After I cried and pretty much made Greg feel like shit, I went up to bed for awhile. I'm reading a book called "Who Am I?" and the section I was on was talking about feel-good happiness versus value-based happiness. In short, feel-good happiness covers the things that feel good (sex, food, drugs) that cater to our biological desires. Value-based happiness covers the things that make life meaningful. Like, being a parent, working to solve social issues, creating art, etc. So it really put things into perspective. Having my son is so much bigger than any whining I can do at this point. Already, I feel like his parent, his mother and that feels so much bigger and more important than any sexual relationship.

OK, I have 8 weeks left, which really means anywhere from 6-10 weeks. Ugh. I feel soooo done. Time has ground to a standstill for me. I'm whining again, aren't I? I just want him in my arms. I want my own body back!

I just realized that my wedding anniversary and Superbowl are on the same day next year. I'm sooooo pissed! I got married in February because it's after football season. So what does the NFL do this year? They schedule the fucking Superbowl on my anniversary!!! UGH! Since this is a day of double importance (at least for my football-obsessed hubby), I know the baby is going to be born on this day! Greg just better hope he's born by noon. I know I'm delivering in a birthing center and all, but you get to go home 4-8 hours after the birth, not immediately!

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga