Post Thanksgiving Tranquility

Friday, Nov. 26, 2004
8:04 a.m.

Oh, my gosh! I'm just now starting to hate the holidays. Wait, I can't really say that. I just got so frustrated several times yesterday and was convinced that none of it was worth it. In the morning, Greg and I cleaned the house (I had to put the computer in the corner on the floor to make room for food...bah!). Then, we realized we were missing some food, so we both ran up to the store. Once we got outside, we realized my car had a flat tire! Not too surprising, since Greg thought that tire was low the night before. But that meant we had to take his truck, which had a huge fucking ladder strapped to the top. Ugh. And our happy local grocery store was closed, so we had to go to crappy G1ant. It was a fucking madhouse, some asshole cut me off with his cart twice within the first 6 minutes I was in the store. Me, seven months pregnant and carrying stuff in my arms because there aren't any baskets left! Fucking ASSHOLE! So, later on, when I had the chance, I ran right in front of him, jumped in front of his cart, and stopped. It was funny as shit! The whole trip only took about half an hour, which was quicker than I had anticipated.

After getting home, Greg and I had a argument because he misunderstood me two weeks ago when I told him my family was coming over. Maybe the pot had something to do with it?

So, my sister and my niece showed up around 11:50. And my sister had bought a car! What?!?!?!?! And then I found out later she bought a house in Elkton and is going to closing next month. What?!?!?! This is the sister who lives near DC and takes the Metro everywhere. What the fuck just happened??? Also, she seems to be getting way more religious. She's Menn0nite (where she got that from, I have no idea) and now in addition to wearing her own handmade clothes and always wearing her hair in a bun, she also had on some wire net hair thingy. OK, I found a picture. What a strange sister she has become. Well, she was always weird, so that's not even a fair statement to make. How much she's swung from one end of the pendulum to the other?

Around 12:30, Mom, Youngest Sister, and College Brother showed up. Then, Greg served dinner. How much does he rock? He made all of Thanksgiving dinner for my family! The menu:

Turkey (cooked the day before, thank goodness)
Regular Mashed Potatoes
Vegan Mashed Potatoes
Gravy
Regular Stuffing
Vegan Stuffing
Corn
Green Beans
Broccoli
White Rolls
Wheat Rolls
Candied Sweet Potatoes

My mom brought homemade pumpkin pie for dessert, both the regular kind and the vegan kind.

Yes, we have a variety of dietary freaks in my family. Menn0nite Sister, Niece, and Mom are vegan. Youngest Sister and College Brother are vegetarian. And I think everyone else eats meat. I'm never sure, though.

After we ate, Stepdad and Younger Brother showed up. YB had to work (he works as a Bitch Boy at a veterinarian's office/kennel; apparently, he loves the work and doesn't mind always smelling like dog).

At about 3:20, after everyone had eaten and had some pie, Stupid Misty dropped of Star. Ruby, my niece, had been playing for hours and was like, "Come on, let's play, blah blah blah". And Star, having just come from her mother's house, acted like a spoiled fucking princess for the first 15 minutes. Ugh, I hate when she's like that...it makes her so ugly!

Oh, and Star was dressed in:

A short little (i.e. TOO SMALL) velvet dress with capped sleeves (a little too cold on the arms and legs, if you ask me)
Black stockings
Bratz brand platform tennis shoes (OK, in these parts, combining a dress with tennis shoes is CITY TRASH through and through)
Too small jean jacket

Greg made a funny comment: "It's like her mother wants her to be 15 and pregnant!"

Around 4:30, my family left and the 3 of us got changed to go to Greg's sister's house. I made Star change her clothes, because I'll be damned if any child of mine looks like city trash. Plus, I tend to prefer the "Child" look, rather than the "Hooker" look! So, I let her pick between 2 holiday dresses and she picked a black velvety dress with long sleeves (since it got cold as fuck last night) that went to about her ankles, white tights, and black dress shoes. What? Dress shoes with a dress? What the fuck was I thinking??? She also wanted 5 hair clips in her hair, so I arranged them all around her face so they made her look a little bit like the Statue of Liberty. But cute, anyway.

So, we headed over to SIL's house. SIL thought Star was adorable, even the hair. SIL still sees Stupid Misty and says that Star is like a totally different child when she's with us compared to with her mother. I.E. with us, she's well-behaved and pleasant and with her biological mother, she's a spoiled fucking brat and once, SIL said, she wanted to slap the shit out of the child! Ugh, that makes me so crazy to hear that shit! I don't want Star to be a little bitch EVER, but apparently she is with her mom because her mom lets her get away with it. Her mom needs to be a fucking parent. Oh, wait, that would mean she'd have to be an adult first, and I don't think that's ever going to happen!

Dinner with Greg's family was normal, as per them. They argued and fought and got sassy with one another. The normal.

We took Star home (in sweat pants that fit, a sweatshirt that fit, and a winter coat that fit) around 8:00. In fact, she was sleeping in the car and when we got there, Greg handed her over to Troll Man (Stupid Misty's boyfriend) and said, "In this bag are the clothes she came over in that don't fit. You can keep the clothes and coat on her, since they fit." HAHAHAHAHA! I don't know why Stupid Misty keeps squeezing her into clothes that don't fit! I know she's a big girl and maybe she has trouble finding clothes that fit her. No, wait, I can't accept that...Greg is a big dude and he wears clothes that fit him. Me, half the time I wear clothes that are too big, but that's a whole nother story.

So, then Greg and I came home, watched the second half of Survivor and all of CSI. And then about passed out in bed.

Oh, yeah, my MIL gave me more clothes for Star, Greg, and me. She gave me some preggo nightgowns, which I really love, even though they look really goofy. They're all ribbons and lace. But they fit my belly and boobs and they're long enough to hide the fact that I'm not wearing panties. So there!

P.S. I just read my guestbook and notes entries and thank you all for the "get well" wishes. Sometimes I forget other people actually read my diary and then I'm like, "Uh? Oh, wow, cool!" Besides being a little more exhausted than usual, I am feeling better. I think I'm doing better than Greg, strangely enough!

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga