Mammal Reproduction

Friday, Nov. 19, 2004
8:18 p.m.

I'm finding it difficult to be anything but exhausted. Over the past 3 days, Falcon has moved with so much more force than before. Today, we was active all day long and jabbed me quite a few times, rather unexpectedly. A few times, it was really uncomfortable and I had to stand up to get him to settle back down a little bit.

I was thinking today, too, that mammals are really strange. Carrying your young within your body??? What kind of evolutionary freakshow are we? Reptiles have the right idea...lay some eggs and either sit on them or abandon them. Oh, yeah, I guess birds do that, too. Reptiles are just cooler animals. But mammals birth live young. And the mommies are always feeling the young squirming around inside them. Mammal mommies make so many sacrifices just to reproduce. How crazy is that? They use the energy for survival and redirect it to nourishing their young. Strange. Procreation is certainly a strong force of nature! And for humans, at least, Mother Nature was fucking brilliant...make sex feel good so that people will want to reproduce or be tricked into reproducing over and over again. What other species has such an enjoyable sex life?

Now I'm thinking, "Hey, I should have been a biologist." But, not really...my favorite science is chemistry. Or quantum physics, but that's really all math anyway. And math is my favorite thing of all (at least school-subject-wise). I should have been a mathemetician. All nerdy and geeky. Actually, when I was in college, my major was Elementary Education with a specialization in Math and Science. I would have been a cool teacher. Too bad I liked to party even more!

OK, I'm really really tired and my tummy hurts and I have heartburn and I think I just need to lay down.

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga