Glucose Test

Wednesday, Nov. 10, 2004
9:35 a.m.

So, on my day off, I woke up early (7:30 or so), shoehorned my belly into a pair of overalls and headed over to the nearest Quest lab. Since my midwife didn't give me the extra-yummy orange drink, I had to drink it at the lab. I was expecting it to be A LOT, but it was only 10 ounces (or 296 mL, per the bottle). And it tasted just like orange soda but without the carbonation. It wasn't the greatest thing in the world, especially on an empty stomach, but it wasn't anywhere near as bad as my online preggo buds made it out to be. I mean, what's the deal with the vomiting after you drink it? I was just happy to have some sugar in me...and Falcon liked it, too...he loves sugar & he just kept kicking me while I waited the requisite hour in the lab waiting room.

Do you know how funny and strange old people are? While I was waiting, I spoke to a really nice older woman named Anne, whose grand-daughter was pregnant. She wanted to know where I got the overalls, since gd wanted some. Um, e-Bay? She kind of looked at me blankly. So I told her to stop by a Motherhood store. She sounded so intelligent and still in her right mind and it really made me miss my grandma. Like, this preggo grand-daughter doesn't know how good she's got it. I would love to have my grandma around now!!! She's been dead for 16 years now and I still miss her sooooo much! (Hey, grandma, I quit smoking! Yes!!!) There was also an old man in there who blamed all of his woes on women and he said it really loud. Of course, the lab office is run by three women and there's a pregnant woman sitting in the waiting room. Maybe you want to shut the fuck up, asshole!

Around 8:30, tons of people came in and one man smelled really bad...like body odor masked with cologne. Yuck! But then a nice-smelling younger woman sat between us and then all I could smell was her perfume, which was not too overpowering, thank goodness!

So, finally, at 9, I got my blood drawn and everyone was ooing and aahing over my hair. It's finally cold enough to wear it down and I think it's really grown while I haven't been paying attention. I probably have about 4 feet of hair now. I can't quite brush the bottom like I used to, so I have to do weird contortions. Or else have Greg brush my hair, which is way better.

I just ate some cereal & now I'm drinking OJ. But I'm still hungry...oh, wait, it's time for my morning snack! Well, then, I should go find something!

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga