Thelma

Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004
8:34 p.m.

OK, now I will write a real entry, after that bitching I did a few hours back.

Finally, the weather around here is what I would classify as:

Not too hot

No, we haven't turned our heat on or anything...we're a couple of hotties, after all. But I think today was the first day since last winter that I haven't sweated my ass off. I actually wore a sweater outside! That's how wonderfully cool it was! Thank goodness! Come on, winter!!!

There's a woman at work named Thelma who I absolutely adore. She and I used to sit next to each other, when I was an adjuster and she was a new examiner. I helped her out a lot with her job and we just enjoyed each other's company. She's about 12 years older than me, maybe about 40 now? But, her kids are in their early 20's...she had her kids young and she never got married. But now she's a really devout Christian. I never knew I could be friends with her, but I think she's an ACTUAL Christian...she cares for all people, she tries to find the good in everyone, she's extremely caring, she has done everything for her 3 kids (and now 2 grandkids) and has worked hard to provide for them. I mean, I think she actually follows what Jesus said! So, even though she's totally Christian and I'm pretty much pagan, we got along really well and cared very much for one another. Two years ago, I became the trainer and moved to a different department and now she actually has the job I had back then, as an adjuster. Since I've gotten pregnant, she has been so happy for me and she rubs my belly in such a caaaaaaalm way. I love it. She can come over and move in with me just to rub my belly. Today, she came over to my desk and rubbed my belly and then Falcon started moving around. Then, he kicked her really hard! He was like, "Mom likes the rubbing and so do I! I know that hand!" It was really neat, because Thelma is the first person to feel him except for Greg and Star.

This evening, I started writing my birth plan. Such fun. I'm like, "I would like to avoid this and this and this and that." I also put what I would like, but it seemed so full of negatives! There are so many things I don't want! Like: pitocin (I'd rather have sex to get labor going!), external and internal fetal monitoring, IV, heparin block, medicinal pain relief, etc, etc, etc... I think I also decided that I am going to ask my youngest sister to cut the umbilical cord. I cut one of my brother's umbilical cords when he was born in '84 and I have always felt like I've had a special connection with him. We talked about Star doing it, but Greg thinks she may be a little too young. After thinking it over, I have to agree with him. I'm not sure I want a 4-year-old with scissors around my newborn!!!

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga