Ranting About Child-Rearing

Saturday, Oct. 30, 2004
7:18 p.m.

My wonderful husband let me take a two-hour nap this afternoon, to make up for the middle-of-the-night nonsense. How nice is that? And then he just cooked me dinner. Well, dinner for me and him and Star.

Today, we bought a new TV! Woooo. The last one broke yesterday...just stopped working. I'm not surprised. I think it was about 20 years old. I took it from Bob when I left him and I think he inherited it 8 or 10 years ago from his cousin, who probably inherited it from her parents. So our new TV is much bigger and clearer than the last. Greg and I are still in awe. Star is unmoved.

I just got out her train track set, which had been in hiding for awhile. In fact, I had it in hiding for so long that she forgot she had it. So, it's lying on the floor, untouched, and she's using the canister lid in which it was stored to fight with Daddy. She found her foam trident/devil's pitchfork for a better fight!

Sometimes, I am so surprised by who she is. When I was younger, I was bookish and math-oriented. And my sister was a tomboy. We both played with each other or by ourselves, rarely (if ever) with our parents. Star wants CONSTANT parental interaction. Plus, she's not into building things, like I was, or getting really dirty, like my sister was. Instead, she wants to play cook and play waitress and play family relationships ("Pretend you're the baby, he's the brother, and I'm the mommy.") What a girly-girl! Oh, and she wants to converse with either me or Dad all the freaking time. Her desire for unending interaction is draining. My niece, who is the same age, acts like my sister and I did. She'll play on her own for a long time and then ask you if she can have a drink and then ignore you again while she goes back to playing. I think Ruby, my niece, has realized that adults make poor co-players? That's what my sister and I thought for years. Star has yet to determine that; I doubt she ever will. I think she likes to be in the adult, realistic world, rather than off in the childhood fantasy world.

OH! One more thing I noticed today: When Greg and I shop, we are ALL business; I'm like a guy when I shop - get in, get out. My mom was like that, too, so she instilled the Fear of Mom into us when we were little.

The Fear of Mom was:
1. Stay close to Mom.
2. Don't touch anything.
3. Be quiet.

Star has none of those things. I think because her other mom is ALL OVER THE PLACE when she shops (or does anything for that matter!). I don't blame Star for her horrible behavior in a store; it's like she didn't even know how to act, like no one had told her or shown her. THAT is what scares me, concerns me, makes me sad?

OH!!!!! And another thing: This morning, when Star was picking out a dress to wear, I took away all of her summer dresses. Of course, she wanted one of them and whined that, "Life's not fair." I said, "Oh, really?" And she said, "Yeah, my other mommy said life's not fair." My response: "If you work hard, life is fair. So work really hard." Yeah, you dumb, lazy cunt! What kind of whiney, bitchy woman are you to say that life isn't fair?!?!?!?!?!?!! You DO NOTHING BUT SIT AROUND ON YOUR ASS ALL DAY and you say LIFE IS NOT FAIR!????????!!!!!!!! Are you fucking kidding me??????? AND...to say such a self-defeating thing to your child as if it's gospel??? That's fucking disgusting!!!!! She wants her daughter to be as lazy and whiney as she is! What the fuck is that?!?!?!?! Greg and I were raised with "work hard and be a good person", so this is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO alien to me! And it really pisses me off!!!! Where is this bitch's work ethic?!?!?!?!?!?! AAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!! My step-daughter is going to grow up to be a festering sore upon society if she stays with her mother!!!!!!!

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga