The Big Belly

Tuesday, Oct. 19, 2004
8:00 p.m.

This evening, my mom took me out to dinner. It was only to Subway, but it was still nice. She takes a class every Tuesday evening on programming or somthing at the college near my house (the one my brother goes to). We got to talk about pregnancy, moving to Indiana (she really wants to go with us, but my step-dad will never go!), my brother's non-existant love life, and how weird my husband is (which is great; I love his idiosyncracies).

After I got home, I watched Real World/Road Rules Challenge, because I really still am a teenager in that respect. I must keep watching those shows. Why?!?!?! I'm so hooked!

Then Greg massaged my legs and then we played for awhile. (So I think Saturday's argument is finally resolved, since we're fucking again.) Almost every single time we have sex, I think about giving birth. Like, it's half a turn-on and half "ew, gross"! I was a noisy chica before, but now I really shout and grunt; it really is like I'm in labor or something. I guess it's good that I'm not afraid of giving birth; yep, a huge baby is coming out of that little hole and will stretch me all to hell and I'm okay with that.

It feels like my belly is reaching maximum density. It overwhelms me sometimes. It's not like I can take it off to be comfortable or even to relieve that little twinge of claustrophobia. I'm stuck with it for the next three months!

I've started to feel some minor non-painful cramps. I read that some women start to feel Braxton-Hicks contractions around now, so I think that's what it may be. It's like a really wide belt from my belly button to my pubic bone that gets a little tighter for several seconds. But it doesn't hurt.

Isn't it crazy how once you feel the baby move around on a semi-regular basis, you freak out if you don't feel the baby moving? My whole world revolves around when he's moving and when he's not. I'm not the only one; my friend, Stacy, calls me to tell me if her daughter is kicking or not. And I think my other preggo friends worry about the same thing. It's such a great feeling, though. I love when he moves around (except when he kicks me really hard while I'm driving, because it startles me). It's cool seeing my belly move and feel him inside of me all at the same time!

My friend, Lora, told me that once I have him, I'll miss my belly. Like, I'll mourn it. And even though I will have my son in my arms, I will still want him back inside of me. I just about cried when she told me that. (Plus, she AND her son almost died when she had him.) As overwhelming as I'm sure this belly will be by January, I know I'll miss it. It's crazy how this little fetus takes over your physical, emotional, and spritual self.

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga