Candy Pumpkins

Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004
4:16 p.m.

Today, I had the day off work. It is Wednesday, after all! I woke up this morning to the sound of Greg in the bathroom, dry heaving. I held his hair and rubbed his back (yep, just like a mommy), which calmed him down. After a few more bouts, he called out sick and came back to bed with me.

Three hours later, I woke up and played on the internet. You know, what with it being new and all.

I had a midwife appointment today, which went well. I gained 4 pounds since my last appointment 5 weeks ago, my blood pressure was lower than it had been, sugar in urine is still negative, protein still at a trace, heartbeat fine, my belly measures 25 centimeters. But I had a belly before, so it's within MY range of normal. I got no lectures on nutrition!!! Woohoo!!!!! The midwife, I think it was Ann today, said to drink more water. But that was after I told her I was getting some swelling in my right ankle on days when I didn't drink enough water. So, I was really the one who prescribed more water.

While I was there, a woman in early labor came in. She was so cute (and looked a little familiar), she said she was having contractions but she didn't feel them! She was just so chatty!

When I got home, Greg was playing on the computer. He's such a newbie that he's a little nervous about what's OK to click on. I mean, he doesn't want to kill our computer with unwanted downloads. I set him up with e-mail and a diary. After adding an entry and seeing all the D*land features, I think he was exhausted, had met his limit.

Hey, do you know anyone who has dogs and kids? I want to find a baby gate that keeps the kids in but lets the dogs come and go as they please. I've looked at so many baby gates that look like they'd keep everyone in or keep the dogs in and let the kids roam free. Ugh. I want to dogs to still have the same freedom that they have now. But I want to limit little kids' movements as a safety measure. I trust the dogs to walk down the stairs without injuring themselves. It's going to be several years before I can trust kids to do that!

Do you know what I bought at the drug store today (besides toothpaste and Noxzema, for which the trip was required)? Candy corn and candy pumpkins. I love candy pumpkins. I have been craving so much sugar during this pregnancy that I'm surprised Falcon isn't already 10 pounds!

Oh, yeah, I found a cute little countdown meter until my due date. I stuck in on the buttons page. I also found some only pseudo-ugly receiving blankets for boys on the Babies R Us site. Yesterday, I found an acceptable breast pump ($320!!!) & stuck that on my registry. I hope my mom gets if for me. I'd much rather have that than, say the playpen or high chair. Really, all I need immediately are diapers, car seat, and clothes. Then the breast pump, and then all the other crap. Thank god Greg and I have decided to do family bed, because then I don't need to pick out boring things like a crib and crib sheets. I cannot think of anything more boring than crib sheets. They're worse than baby books. All the baby books look the same to me...dumb and boring!!!

I think what I really like looking for is little clothes and stuff for the bathroom. I'm such a bathroom nut!!! I get sidetracked and think, "Hey, Star would like that washcloth set/bathtub toy!" I think I picked out 4 different baby towels. What baby needs 4 bath towels? Apparently mine, since I'm so ga-ga over bathroom crap.

My friend, Stacy, is 18 weeks pregnant now. She was convinced she was having a boy, just as I was convinced I was having a girl. She had a sonogram this morning and found out she's having a girl! So much for mother's intuition!!! I'm a little worried, though, that she's having a girl. I think boys would be much safer around her husband. Sure, people can change, but I don't trust him to.

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga