I have two daddies and two Mistys

Thursday, Dec. 25, 2003
9:57 p.m.

The anti-Christmas wasn't so bad. In fact, the very mellow-ness of it was quite refreshing. Greg & I had dinner at his sister's house, along with Niece, Nephew, Greg's mom, Greg's dad, Sister's MIL, Sister's FIL, Mom's friend M, and a poor little mutt dog. BIL, unfortunately, had to work. We had a super-yummy dinner, which included turkey, ham, stuffing, mashed potatoes, gravy, candied yams (my new favorite), some other sort of sweet yams, homemade bread, ambrosia (yuck!), cranberries, and a few other things. Hung out with his family for a few hours. My dad called while I was there. Apparently, he had just spoken to my sister and became super-freaked out over the health of my mother. Um, hello? You've been divorced for 23 years? Mom has just said that she's been sick, dealing with depression (my guess is menopause-related), and is overwhelmed. All of us kids took it at face value. What's the deal with my dad? Maybe she was a different person when they were married. I don't know. But, from the viewpoint of us five kids, Mom can handle anything, she's mellow, she doesn't lie, and she sets appropriate limits. So, I think she just didn't want to deal with Christmas. Can't say I blame her.

So, we sat around the dinner table, bad-mouthing Evil Misty. Too funny! I heard that a couple months ago, Evil Misty took Niece (who is 11) to a pow-wow. And she said she would cover all food for the weekend for Niece. That's appropriate, since she was her aunt, after all. Well, Evil Misty dropped off Niece (3 hours late) at the end of the weekend and Niece not only had to spend the money her mother had given her, but Evil Misty also owed her $10. Um, hello?!?!?!?! She's fucking eleven!!! An eleven-year-old shouldn't have to spend her money on dinner!!! Either for herself, or for her fat ex-aunt. Ugh! On the way home, I told Greg what I thought about that & I was like, "She's my niece. I wouldn't make her pay for anything. Even when she's 30 and has 3 kids with her, I'll still treat. Because I'm her aunt!!!" Greg agreed with me, but apparently Evil Misty doesn't operate like the rest of the sane/adult world.

Oh, I heard Star said something cute a while back: "I have two daddies and two Mistys." LOL!

Greg's mom got me: cute purple PJ's (that I'm wearing now), a long pink summery dress for Jamaica, and $20. She got Greg several things. And she also got gifts for the grandpets: a bone each for Ricky and Odin and a bag of catfood for Samantha. Too cute!

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga