A Little Drama

Sunday, Dec. 21, 2003
3:39 p.m.

Well, check this out for drama. Oh, no, wait, I have to write about the boring part first.

Yesterday, we had to run a few errands. So, we went to the bank at 11:57 in the morning. Three minutes before closing. On the Saturday before Christmas. Bad fucking idea. There were a zillion people there & the line ran around the entire bank lobby. I needed to deposit my reimbursement check from my trip to Waukegan. I mean, I really don't feel like carrying around a $350.00 check in my purse. Actually, it was $350.58. Anyway, I decided to skip the line & made my deposit via the ATM. That's all well & good, but the real reason I wanted to go into the bank was because I need a new check registry. I figure they should have them there. I tried to order one online, too, and there was nothing listed to order check registries. Sure, more checks, more deposit slips, but not registries. Ugh! I guess I'll have to find their number & call them. I think that's what I had to do a year and a half ago, when I last needed one.

Then, we went to the Catonsville library with Ricky's rabies info to get him registered in Baltimore county. It turns out it only cost us $7!!! We thought it would be $12. The librarian helping us was very nice and smart. Yay, I love smart people. She really liked Greg...trying to flirt with him without me noticing. Uh, hello! What cracks me up is that other women would think I care. I take it as a compliment when other women flirt with Greg. It just proves that I've got a great man!

Then, we went to the leasing office to fill out our application. At first, the office staff (of only 2) were super-shitty and rude to us. The woman "helping" was like, "Do you have all the stuff you need?" (followed by a lip curl, I'm convinced). "Well, then I need to see your paystubs." Once she glanced at our paystubs, her whole tune changed. She was so fucking nice after that! It worked out well for us, but it still kind of pisses me off. Just because we make decent money (at least in her opinion), we deserve good customer service? That is such bullshit! She & the other woman were so fucking rude to other applicants in the office. One guy from India (with the beautiful rolling r accent) said he was there to sign a lease. So knucklehead (the one not helping us) searched all around for his paperwork. Finally, all understood that he was there to apply, rather than to sign a lease. So what's a good way to say that, assuming your job is customer service? How about this? "Before you can sign a lease, can you please fill out this paperwork? This process may take up to 10 business days to be approved." No. Instead, she said, "OHHHHHHH! [insert attitude] You're not here to sign a lease. [again insert attitude] You're here to apply. [insert some more attitude]" Fucking dumb bitch.

Anyway, we had lunch at Quizno's, now one of my favorite restaurants, and then headed home.

In the evening, Greg & I decided to see one of his friends in Perry Hall. So, I drove up through the 895 tunnel and I was about to merge onto 695 going towards Towson, in the left lane, when...here's the drama...my tire blew!!! I was going about 70 miles per hour. But I managed to very safely and quickly pull the car over to the shoulder, albeit the left shoulder. Greg began changing the tire and then a cop car came up behind us & sat behind us with his lights on while he changed the tire. That was nice, because all the fast left-lane traffic really made me nervous. Greg was having trouble getting the tire off and then a second cop showed up. He came up & talked to us & once he heard Greg couldn't get the tire off, he kicked it & it came off perfectly! So, keep this in mind, guys, if you can't get the tire off (and there is no locking key), maybe it just needs a good kick! That cop was so nice. He put all the stuff back in my trunk, too.

So, we got to the meeting place with the friend, with me driving about 50 miles per hour on the beltway (yes, my hazards were on, but you wouldn't know it with the assholes behind me).

Later, we headed to Beth and Randy's. We hung out with them for awhile.

Driving home, still on the doughnut spare, I was very uncomfortable with the speeding on the beltway (what, was everyone drunk?), and we came upon some traffic because there was a car fire and two firetrucks were holding up two lanes. So I got off the beltway & headed home via 195 & around the airport. It turned out to be a very nice ride.

This morning, we took the car to NTB first thing. Let me tell you, their customer service was awesome!!! Anyway, they had an alignment special, so I decided to get that, too. And the other front tire also had weird wear because of the misalignment and wires were poking through, so I also had that one replaced. It kind of sucks, moneywise, but it needed to be done. I mean, the alignment and the replacement of both tires. And now it's done & I won't have to worry about it.

Oh! And check this out! I got a letter on Friday with return address S.C. Yes, Santa Claus. Inside was a letter that said something like, "I know you could use some more cash this time of year." And there were 3 $50 bills enclosed. Yaaaaay! Even though sending cash through the mail is risky! (By the way, this was from my dad. He's been doing shit like this for years. Dork.)

One more thing: I had an awesome dream last night about getting married to Greg. It was odd, involving most of the people I work with, plus some people my parents knew through reenacting when I was a kid. [My parents liked to reenact French & Indian War, AKA 7 Years' War. So that was often something we did on the weekends. It was fun, as a kid. And not too bad as a teenager, since all their friends had kids (boys!) my age.] But I woke up all excited and happy, knowing that he's going to be my husband in about 6 weeks!

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga