10 Annoying Things about Diaryland

Sunday, Nov. 16, 2003
4:01 p.m.

I've spent waaaaay too much time playing around in Diaryland today. I used to do this all the fucking time when I first started my diary. Nowadays, I usually add my entry, read a few of my favorites, and then do something else. So here's what I've found:

1. Diaryland is full of 14-year-olds. Like, really, it's frightening.

2. I found one review site (it shall remain nameless) that bitches about horrible spelling & grammar and then goes on to say:

"Do not submit any diary other then your own."

Needless to say, this review site is run by a couple of 14-year-olds.

3. Why purchase a gold membership and then use a stock template? I mean, really!!! I hate when people don't design their own layouts, but it's still preferred to the plain free layouts.

4. Just learn some HTML!!! And while you're at it, a little CSS. With those 2 things only, you'll have a great page. And it will 100% reflect who you are. Then you won't have to get a design from someone who already knows these things!

5. I read lots of review sites today, thinking, "Hmmmm, maybe I'll finally submit myself for review." No. Not happening. All the reviewers are 14-year-olds (I know, big surprise there). And they're constantly looking for drama. Guess what? I'm 27. I'm happy to be done with the bullshit drama of my life. I should start a review site that says, "the more boring & mom-ish your site is, the better. In fact, if you don't have any pictures of babies, kids, or pets, don't even bother asking for a review." Oh, no!!! I think I'm turning into a mushy girl! Babies, kids, & pets?!?!?!?! Oh, God, it's true! I'm becoming my grandmother!!!

Moving on...

6. If your diary is locked, don't join a ring. It just fucks up everyone. I should add that to my ring rules.

7. Broken links! I hate broken links!!! How hard is it to double-check that all of your links work!!!

8. And speaking of other broken things. You know those ring masters who store images on another server? If the image no longer exists, update the HTML for the ring, dumbass! You make my rings pages look like garbage!!!!!

9. And what's with the banners? The creators are either freak Christians or brooding nihilists. Ugh.

10. Review pages or community pages (like this one) are alright. But when their owners say, "I'm having a personal crisis" or "I don't have time for this" makes me crazy. Maybe you should have thought of that before! Try thinking ahead just a little bit. I don't run a million different projects because I know that even if I have time today, I probably won't in the near future. But, what can you expect from a 14-year-old?

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga