My Work Situation

Monday, Nov. 10, 2003
3:19 p.m.

Let me fill you in on my work situation:

Since September of 2002, I was the only trainer for my company. At the time, our membership was dwindling & that made sense. I didn't have to do much training, a couple re-trains for current employees, a few short data-entry classes for temps, some cross-training for the staff that excelled, but nothing big.

Now our office is in the middle of receiving all the work that is currently handled by our office in Illinois. So were are quickly hiring a ton of people. So, my boss created 2 new trainer positions. One was filled by Squiggles (obviously a pseudonym). Now, Squiggles is very sweet & nice. She worked for our company before, in several different departments, she held some management positions, and for a year, she was an independant contractor. She left only a few months ago. Now she's back permanently & has picked up a big section of the work that I don't really want at all. I'm glad. I like working with her & I appreciate her work ethic, her style, and her team attitude.

The other person about to become trainer is an internal hire from a different floor (and, therefore, a different section of the company, which has a different mindset). She has the reputation with folks on our floor of being a bull in a china shop. She has pissed off just about everyone at one time or another, including me. But she's also a major brown-noser, which drives me bonkers! So, let's call her Brown-Noser. I hated brown-nosers in school & I hate them now. I don't care that she also brown-noses me; I still hate it! So, management loves her and peons hate her. She lacks quite a few social skills, like, say, politeness, sympathy, understanding. Just the ones that will get you far in a women-dominated industry. DUH! You need to play the office politics game! So, anyway, I told myself that even though she drove me crazy, I would play nice. Playing nice advances my career & my reputation. And that's what I want. But I dread having to deal with her.

Also, work has been extremely stressful on many people lately. Like last week, The Boss was cussing and saying she was about to submit her resignation. You know, stuff like that. So, today, I took a mental health day. I'm not the first one and I certainly won't be the last. So I spoke to The Boss on the phone late this morning & she said she was going to send Brown-Noser to Indianapolis to do some training on a portion of the system that I know very little about (and care very little about) either the second or third week of December. Woo-hoo! She'll get to see how much it sucks! And she can be mean to people in that office, instead of our office. Yaaaaaay!

I also get to train both Squiggles and Brown-Noser and 4 more hires plus 2-4 temps on Claims. I get Brown-Noser half days Weds & Thurs and then all-day starting Friday. I don't get Squiggles until next Monday, since she is holding another training class currently. It should be fun & interesting. The training room will be very tight & full. I guess we'll have to get real close real quickly. And hope that everyone bathes daily.

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga