THIS IS NOT A CHECK

Wednesday, Oct. 29, 2003
5:03 p.m.

Check this out. This afternoon, my boss brought my pay stub to me. We don't get paid until Friday, but we usually get our pay stubs a couple days early. Since 99% of the office has direct deposit, there really aren't any live checks flying around. So, I looked at my fake check (the one attached to the pay stub that says "THIS IS NOT A CHECK") & it was more money than my paycheck usually is. By almost $100. Then, I reviewed the paystub & noticed that my hourly rate had increased by more than $1.00 per hour. I e-mailed The Boss, asking her what was going on. She pulled me into her office a little later & said, "I wondered if that was going to be approved!" Apparently, she had asked for me to get a merit increase for all my hard work. Plus, now I am the Senior Trainer. Read that again...Senior Trainer. Yeah. Damn straight. So she hasn't gotten the paperwork yet that it was approved, but apparently Finance knows about it, because it's on my paycheck. Cool!

Last night, I blew up at Greg about totally dumb shit. It was horrible & then he had to hear about how overwhelmed I feel at work. Poor man. Plus, we talked about relationships and stuff. It turns out that he does not know a single relationship (the lovers type, not friends or parent-child or any other type) that he thinks is healthy or that he aspires to or can use as a model of what a healthy, loving relationship is. Isn't that sad? I have both sets of parents to use as models. Their relationships are different in many respects (like, my mom & step-dad are still very child-centered, while my dad & step-mom are very couple-centered, since their youngest is 26), but I have been able to spend my life observing both & noting what is healthy, admirable, loving, etc about both. Greg doesn't have that. I'm thinking that maybe the majority of people don't have that. That sucks!

All three dogs in the house (Ricky, Odin, & Maggie) have spots on their skin that are scabby & hard. We don't have fleas, but Greg's mom thought it might be a fungal infection. Right now, we're treating them with anti-fungal shampoo & also cream. We had to cut some of Ricky's hair on his back/butt to apply the cream appropriately. He looks like such a dork now with a patch of hair much shorter than the rest! We're still not sure how it got into the house. Maybe Angel & Buffy? Probably not, since none of the cats are afflicted. Maybe Jacob? Maybe just something from the woods, since Ricky likes to frolick back in the trees. I don't know...

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga