The Grocery Store & My Weird Sister

Wednesday, Apr. 23, 2003
5:05 p.m.

The past couple of days have been relatively uneventful. Not too bad days at work, followed by evenings with my honey.

On Monday, we went to the grocery store & had a very full cart...we decided to do the self-checkout, since all 3 lanes were vacant. So we wouldn't be tying anyone up, right? Well, by the time, we were done, all 3 lanes had lines. What the fuck?!?! And Greg bagged while I scanned. I love scanning...I should have worked at a grocery store at some point. I love the self-checkout lines, because they let me scan (never mind they're quicker & easier). I want to scan all day. "Beep...1.99...beep...3.79...beep...2.19... savings .99...beep...4.79... beep...1.99...beep...1.99." I could listen to that computer voice all day.

We bought lots of nummy-nummy stuff, like frozen store-brand pizzas (I swear to you, they're better than Freschetta or Digiorno), burritos, ice cream, coffee cake, chicken, steak, ground beef, toothpaste, bagels, yogurt, instant oatmeal, 4 boxes of cereal, hamburger helper, brownie mix, and bananas (and lots of other stuff, but I forget now). Can you tell I don't scrimp when it comes to groceries? Maybe that's why I'm so pleasantly plump! LOL Also, this store has THE BEST store brand products!!! What we've found that's good so far: frozen pizza, ice cream, hamburger helper, crescent rolls, instant oatmeal, tuna helper, "Rice Crispies", "Frosted Flakes", "Chex", lunchmeat (for Greg...I'm still a little picky), American cheese, bread (Greg got a black rye loaf & it looks really good to me & I'm not a black rye fan!), fried chicken, blocks of cheese (their Meunster is very good), canned green beans (even though Greg keeps calling them string beans, which sounds gross), canned corn, ...

Alright, enough with talking about food.

I've had a cold for the past week or so & my left ear has been totally stuffy. Last night, I blew my nose while taking a shower & my left ear opened back up. That felt so good...it was near glorious! And everything was so loud again!

I got a guilt trip from my mom this morning. OK, she really made me feel guilty by NOT giving me a guilt trip! She called me at 7:15, asking if I could pick up my niece at my sister's house in DC and then drive my niece back to my parents' house so my other sister could watch her today. What?!?!?! Apparently, the daycare provider could not watch my niece, my sister needed to go to work & she doesn't drive, and my mom had a 9:00 class & my step-dad couldn't do it, either. So my mom called me. I was like, "Ma, I have to be to work by 8:00." And of course, I'm thinking, "You have a whole hour to do this that I don't have!" Well, I think she eventually woke up my brother, who is 19, & made him drive down to DC. So I'm all like, I put my job before family, blah blah blah. But then, I was thinking, why am I feeling guilty for this? My sister is the one who chose to get pregnant and raise a child herself. Trust me, she had sex to get pregnant..her daughter was not a surprise. And she also chooses not to drive. I know how much she makes...she could afford it, especially since she's sooooooo fucking frugal...frugal to a fault...and she doesn't drive because it's not eco-friendly. But she's more than happy to get a ride from someone else. Uh, hello!?!?!?! If you're a passenger, it's just as bad for the environment. You have to say "no cars at all" or "let me stop making it a hassle for my mother, father, step-mother, step-father, sister, and brother and get a fucking car"!!! So I'm annoyed with her because: 1. she doesn't drive and 2. she chose to raise a child on her own. Like, was she paying attention at all when we were growing up??? Did she notice that our mother had 2 toddlers (us), worked full-time, and was getting her Master's degree, all while being a single mother??? (And mad props to my mom for that.) Does she hate our father that much that she would deny her daughter a father at all???? That part really pisses me off. Yes, I'm a feminist with the best of them, but I believe children need fathers in their lives. And this especially holds true for girls. I felt like I didn't get enough time with my father when I was growing up. I don't get enough time with him now, but now it's up to both of us to remedy that. Anyway, when I was a kid, I saw him every other weekend when we lived in the same city. When we moved to Maryland, we saw him for a month in the summer and a week at Christmas. And for the first couple of years, for a few days in the spring and a few days in the fall. First of all, how is 2 days out of every 14 days enough time?!?!?!?!?! Second of all, how is this 6 weeks over the course of a year enough time??? I wish I had gotten to see my dad more. I wish I had gotten to live with him more. I miss him now, as an adult, and I still carry the missing him I felt when I was 6! Maybe that's why I'm so adamant about Star getting to be with Greg as much as possible. Because I did not get enough time with my dad!!! And Evil Misty never had a dad growing up, and she knows how screwed up that made her. She really, truly DOES want Star to see her father as much as possible. As much as she annoys me, we can all agree on that. And there is no one else in the situation who understands Star's position as much as I do...because that was me!!! Greg's parents are still married, Evil Misty's dad split eons ago and she was raised by her mom. I'm the only one here who understands that she needs to be one kid at one house and one kid at another; that the payoff in extra birthdays and Christmases isn't really worth it; that she probably shouldn't talk about dad in front of mom and about mom in front of dad; that she will put restrictions on herself because that's how life is. Maybe she won't have to go through all of those things...maybe having her dad around 50% of the time will make her know (know in her soul, as opposed to her head) that everyone loves her and wants her. I spent 2 large chunks of time (years) being mad at my dad because I didn't think he wanted me. Of course, as an adult, I now understand "The System". I still don't think it works for kids, but it is what it is, and I guess we'll have to deal with it.

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga