The Office

Tuesday, Apr. 22, 2003
5:13 p.m.

Ooooooo...office squabbles.

There is a woman who sits near both me & Nikki. She's normally very nice, but lately she's been wearing thin on everyone's nerves. Her husband also works for our company, but for a totally different department. He's always over at her desk. They have both been warned to cut it out & to get to work, but neither of them really heeds the warning. And I think it may come up again soon, from a Manager. Well, this woman has been holed up in the Training Room (MY Training Room...Oh, wait, they're all mine...I'm the only Trainer here!) for the past few weeks. Frank, K, and I also met in the Training Room this morning. Guess who was there? That's right! Mr. Husband! Like, does he HAVE any other work to do? And then Female Co-Worker made a smarmy comment about one of my friends, Lora, which totally pissed me off. Lora's desk was just outside of the Training Room. She gets distracted when too much noise is coming from that room, so she closes the door. She's done it to me several times when I've been training & I have no problem with it. It just means that we're getting a little too loud and need to have the door shut. Nothing wrong with that! Well, another person here, L, is in the Training Room with Female Co-worker and she holds conference calls with the door open. Common courtesy tells you to shut the door when you're on a conference call. DUH!!!! So Lora shut it. Well, that thoroughly pissed of Female Co-worker and L. Of course, they were totally in the wrong and now they're just being bitches. And letting Mr. Husband hang around all the fucking time. Let me tell you this...Mr. Husband works in a department that is currently severely understaffed...he has no time to be play-play-ing around!!! His job is to support the rest of the company!!! Um, hello!!! I have a million things you could be doing for me (not to mention the rest of the company), instead of playing kissy-kissy with your wife while you are at work!!! It's so fucking irritating!!!

Here's more dumb shit about work:

There are far too many morons working here & too few intelligent people. OK, maybe some aren't morons...they're just so lazy! So, we've got 80% stupid and/or lazy people. And about 20% intelligent people. Trust me, I'm being generous here. I also don't understand how some employees don't want to advance. When higher positions become available, they don't go after them. They're not interested in them. What's the deal?!?!?! Within 5-10 years (depending on how long I take for maternity leave), I plan on being my boss...well, at least her position. I've climbed my way up since I first got here four and a half years ago. I started out as a data-entry temp, for goodness sakes, and I'm now the Trainer. Hello!!! People DO get promoted!!! It's not like they let your rot & stagnate! I was hired on permanently after three and a half months. I got promoted 7 months later. I got promoted again on my annual review date, one year later. Then 2 months later, I made a lateral move (my choice, because I knew it was a better position for bouncing up). Then, not quite 2 years later, I was promoted 2 levels up to the Trainer position. It's not like my job is that hard! I don't know all the answers...I just know where to find them. Yes, I do have to think most of the time, but to me, that's preferable to the non-thinking jobs some people have. I like the fact that I have to take 2 brain cells and rub them together! I just wish that everyone would stop and think for 1 fucking minute. Just think for one minute...and maybe they'd have an ever-loving clue!!!

Having said that, I think the majority of people in my department (all 7 of us) are very intelligent people. When I ask a question of Nikki or Frank or any of the others, I get answers that make sense...instead of blank stares or bullshit answers (trust me, corporate-wide, not in our office, there are a lot of bullshitters). I love my department. We all have very specialized jobs, but we have a sense of what others do. Sure, I don't know the intricacies of pricing, like Nikki does, but I generally know what her job is. We are 7 people with 7 different jobs...and are the only people in the company to hold those positions. None of us really has a backup...sure, some of us can do a little bit here and a little bit there, but we're pretty much 100% responsible for everything related to out jobs. We have other departments here with 13 or 18 people who all do the same thing. So they all have backups!!! When they're out, their work doesn't necessarily pile up. To them, a vacation is a vacation. To us, a vacation is double the workload when we get back.

Not to totally bitch...I love my job. I just wish that everyone else would care enough and/or be smart enough with regards to their jobs. Then it would be so much easier to work with them!

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga