Ranting

Wednesday, Apr. 09, 2003
5:16 p.m.

Here's an entry I wrote at work today & e-mailed to myself at home:

What's the deal with divorce? Maryland makes it so tough to get divorced! You have to be separated for 1 year and then prove that there's no way in hell that things can be reconciled. With divorce this rough, why aren't marriage standards as strict? Nikki just told me that she went by herself to get the marriage certificate when she married Antler-head. By herself! Both parties don't even need to be present! What's up with that? I understand the state of Maryland trying to save marriages, but making divorce so tough is not the way to do that! Making it more difficult to get married is the way to do that. That way, only people who really want to get married actually do. I know far too many people who thought to themselves on their wedding days, "Hey, if this doesn't work out, I'll get divorced." Obviously, they really didn't want to get married to that person! The only thing that saved me from the same fate was my total distrust of marriage and all things associated with marriage. I didn't want to get married...I was vehemently against the whole idea. It's part of the whole patriarchy & trying to repress women. Fuck the patriarchy! Then, I met Greg. In theory, I'm still totally against marriage. But I want to be married to my soul mate.

Now that I'm ranting...I should also add that making babies should be much tougher. You all see it all the time...morons and idiots procreating like there's no tomorrow. That makes me fucking sick! You should get a parent license to have kids. And I will be the parenting board. I will be the one to approve or deny your request. We're just dumbing-down the entire human race by letting dipshits and "wastes of space" have more babies. And then the people who should be having babies often aren't (I can't say all...my mom should have definitely had kids and she had 5...and was an amazing mother! plus, I have a lot of friends who are fantastic mothers). You know those people...intelligent, well-read, interesting, pleasant, philanthropist...who make a conscious decision not to have children. Because it would be bad for society or the environment or whatever else. And if those people had children, they would be contributing members to society and hopefully negate the wastefulness of the offspring of all those morons.

Please don't think I'm talking about anyone who reads my diary. Because I'm not. I'm referring to some people with whom I work, some people I see in public and hope to never encounter again, and most of Bob's family.

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga