Commercials

Wednesday, Mar. 19, 2003
11:59 a.m.

I chaired my first meeting this morning. Like, I've been working with the NJ IT people for 5 months, found the solution, called a meeting with about 8 people who would be affected, and ran it myself. Yeah, it was informal, but it was my first. And it was all mine. That's kind of cool!

I suppose I should add my 2 cents about the possibility of the United States going to war. I'm an idealist, not a realist, so dealing with world issues and debating them with me is infuriating. I think everyone should work together for the greater global common good, instead of each person/country's interests. Why can't we just have a global government? Why can't more things be done by grass roots efforts? I'm an insane liberal...probably more so than even the so-called liberals. But I guess that's what happens when one is raised by hippie parents.

Here's an issue that's been bugging me lately: the stupidity of television commercials. For instance, Ge1co commercials state: "Average savings in the DC metro area: $235." Or something along those lines. Guess what, ad execs...those stats are meaningless! Is that per person? For the entire metro area as a whole? For one month? For a 6-month policy? For a year? For a lifetime? Do they think we're fucking math morons??? Why make a statement like that when it's so meaningless? Also, I hate how people are portrayed...men as bumbling idiots and women as people who only care about how old they are or how skinny they are. There's a W*ndy's commercial where a group of woman are bowling. One asks, "Who wants a cold one?" They all do, so they run to the restaurant & order salads. What's wrong with women wanting to drink beer? Why assume that all women want to rush out & buy salads, since they're all so obviously concerned with their weight? Also, there's a commercial on now...I think it's Av0n. It's for anti-aging cream or some such nonsense. The commercial tells women that they can get away with lying about their age. "It's OK to lie about your age." Why would a woman have to or want to? Why do we, as a society, revere the myth that young women are the most beautiful? This makes me crazy!!! I love my age! I wish I were older! I can't wait to be 30! I'm looking forward to gaining wisdom! I look up to the women who are older, more experienced, wise. Ugh! Do these ad people really think we are so gullible and moronic? Really, folks. I already boycott companies with idiotic commercials. I may start boycotting TV altogether.

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga