Death & Headaches

Friday, Feb. 28, 2003
12:22 p.m.

My mom called me last night to let me know that my step-father's mother died last night. I am not and was never close to her, so my response was, "Oh". His family is more stand-off-ish than my mom's, dad's, & step-mother's families, so I was never very close to any of them. The mother was rather high-strung and constantly hovered over people while eating, or chilling out, or whatever. When we visited them when I was a child, my sister and I spent most of our time with the girls next door, swimming in their pool & watching "Charlie & the Chocolate Factory" & playing in their basement. The few times I visited as a teenager (when my mom forced me to go), I just hung out with my mom and my sister. By that point, the girls next door had moved away. I don't think I've been to visit them since I was 17 or 18. And the mother was diagnosed with dementia about 6 years ago and has been in a nursing home for the past few years. Apparently, my brothers and sister & mom & step-dad still visited her and she always confused who was who. I feel sad for my youngest sister, since she's only 12 now, so for half of her life, her grandmother has had dementia. Her other grandmother (my mom's mom) died before she was born. That grandmother was awesome!!! I was 12 when she died & I was absolutely heartbroken. I still miss her, 14 years later. My youngest sister misses her, too, in a strange way. Like, we all still talk about her & my sister gets very upset that she never knew the cool, loving grandma. So, anyway, on Wednesday, my step-grandmother had a stroke & just never recovered from it, so she died yesterday. I'm glad she's free of the sickness that took over her brain. But I don't think I'll really miss her...after all, I haven't seen her in 10 years.

Other news about my life: it snowed again this morning. Big surprise. Greg & I both had migraines when we got home from work yesterday. So we laid in bed for awhile (him sleeping, me trying to sleep). I eventually got up & ate, then he ate. And I forced him to take a shower (I'm of the opinion that a shower not only cleanses the body, but it also cleanses the spirit). After the shower, we both felt a lot better. And, strangely enough, our headaches changed form. Mine turned into a sinus headache (it hurt under my eyebrows and cheekbones) and his turned into a strange one-sided headache that migrated from one side to the other. So Nikki made a comment about the barometric pressure. I think she had the right idea...something about the lastest front was just plain odd.

We had a two-hour delayed opening at work this morning. Well, I think we did, as did several other folks. But some people interpreted it as two-hour liberal leave delay. In my opinion, it sounded like we had a two-hour delay, followed by liberal leave for the rest of the day. It doesn't really matter for me, since I'm salary, but for the hourly people, they may be forced to use their vacation time, which would be so fucking wrong!!!

Tomorrow, Greg, Star, and I are going to Beth & Randy's because Greg wants Randy to take a look at the brakes on the Pontiac. We like hanging out there and they love Star, so we'll probably just stay all day. I adore Beth and Randy. I also like their girls and Beth's brother, Jimmy. He's pretty cool. His girlfriend is stupid and pretty annoying, though...I'm not sure if I can handle all day around her. We'll see...

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga