Respect

Tuesday, Feb. 25, 2003
12:49 p.m.

There's a concept that Greg finds very important and it has taken on a much greater significance for me, lately. That concept is respect.

The people who drive me crazy, who I think are childish, who cannot take responsibility...those are the people I cannot respect.

And I've found that the people I look up to, the people that I count on...those are the ones that I do respect.

I know this sounds like such an abvious statement, but putting it into words has had such a powerful impact on my life lately...well, at least how I view my life and the world.

I have respoect for all four of my parents. They raised me very well and I think they are still raising their younger children very well, turning all of us into true adults (emotionally, financially, socially, etc). Somehow, I really lucked out in the parent department.

Sometimes, I have respect for Greg and sometimes I don't. I agree with all of the life decisions he has made since we got together. But some of the decisions he made prior to our relationship irritate me. Some of those decisions have implications that are still playing out and I have to pick up some of the slack on them. But, I've also made the decision that we are a partnership and I will pick up some of his slack, just like he picks up some of mine (mine is all emotional, though, while his is more physical and financial).

I have some friends that I have a lot of respect for. One of them is Nikki. I know she has had to go through a lot of crap over the past few years. Her younger brother died in a car accident a year and a half ago. I know she had to go through some intense grief, but now she remembers him and talks about him in such a healthy way! It's sort of like how my mom and I talk about my grandmother now. Yeah, we went through a horrible time for a year or so. But now, we tell funny stories about her and laugh about her and even share how much we miss her. Nikki also must have had to go through an emotional turmoil in dealing with her (soon to be) ex-husband. Living with an addict is so rough and deciding to end the relationship is an tough decision. On the one side, you (meaning Nikki and me) think you can support the addict and make him get better. If they have enough love, maybe they'll get well! That's what you think. But, on the other side, you need to stand up for yourself. You need to decide that this is just too much for you. This is not what life is supposed to be!!! You must be selfish at some point when dealing with an addict. You must demand that your needs also get met. Well, at that point, you decide that the addict is not the person who is ever going to fulfill those needs and the relationship needs to end.

But there are so many people that I have no respect for. And that somehow makes it easier to deal with them. They don't have my respect, so I suppose I consider them inconsequential. They irritate me less once I realize this. I'm not sure why...

Anyway, there are my ramblings about R-E-S-P-E-C-T.

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga