All Work

Wednesday, Feb. 12, 2003
6:37 p.m.

I got to work this morning, pulled up my diary page and realized that the mermaid/fish girl is fucking HUGE!!! What a difference in both screen size and resolution between the computer at Greg's house and the one I have at work. No matter...I like it. But I'm not sure about the green. Green shows up so...green on my work computer and it's so muted on the Greg's house computer. So, I find myself wanting to change the colors, based upon where I am!

Most of the day at work pissed me off. There are some people who work for my company, and I'm sure it's pretty much the same at all companies, that just don't want to be smart! I mean, these are the people that don't think beyond their own little job, they don't understand how their job influences other people, they don't stop to think about why a certain policy or workflow may have been created. These are the people who aren't pro-active--they see a problem and just bitch about it, instead of contacting the appropriate parties for resolution. They want to be spoon-fed and have their asses wiped by those of us who ARE pro-active. These are also the same people who never apply for promotions, they never try to move up in the company. They just stay where they are, expect the world, and complain about it.

Having said that, there ARE some people in the company (most of them fairly young...under 40...but that's just an observation, not a commentary!) that try to solve problems (their own and the lazy others'). And I love those people, I count on those people (and not to toot my own horn, but I'm one of those people). There are a few individuals at work who fucking kick ass.

At 2, Michi and I had a conference call with some folks in NJ about a system problem that has been an open issue since October. And the issue may be fixed! One guy set something up in our test region and it seems to be working so far. I have to do some more testing. But it's looking favorable. I'm so stoked (dude!), because this has been my #1 issue since October. And now one boss will get off my fucking back. Not that it was my responsibility to get it fixed, but somebody had to, so I took it on as my project. You know, being pro-active and all!

Greg sprained his wrist at work this morning. The side of his forearm swelled up. He went to Patient First and they said it might be broken, gave him a brace, and told him to come back next week when the swelling goes down. All because he slipped on a patch of ice that was covered with snow that was right in front of a door. Hello, people, make sure the pavement in front of a door is ice and snow-free. Duh.

The cool thing, for Greg, is that I work in health insurance. This shit is covered by Workers' Compensation. If Patient First tries to bill him, they will feel the wrath of Misty. I know what the fuck I'm talking about when it comes to that & I won't hesitate to quote laws and legislation. Yay! Go me!

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga