Star's Burn

Saturday, Dec. 28, 2002
2:17 p.m.

Well, okay. Nikki & Michael & I had our own little rommates Christmas last night. I got them both Yankee candles (vanilla something for Michael and Macintosh for Nikki). Michael got me Godiva chocolate...mmmmmmmmm... And Nikki got me a cool purple glitter lamp and hanging beads. She knows her rommate is a dorky hippie freak! I plugged in the lamp & left it on all night & it turns out that it is THE BEST night light!!! Usually, night lights bug me and are too bright, but the glitter lamp was perfect! Plus, when Star stays with us tonight, she'll be able to see, too, and maybe will just climb into bed with us if she wakes up, instead of having to call for her daddy.

Greg & I stopped by the grocery store last night on the way to my house & picked up lots of goodies, including stuff to make the biggest freakin hero sandwich ever!!! But it was sooooo good!!!

We fell asleep far too early last night (after giving each other back massages...I think that's what did us both in). But we woke up pretty early and were able to enjoy the morning together.

We picked up Star at noon and she has a big burn on her right hand. Per the mother, she (Star) wasn't paying attention & tripped over a toy and hit her hand on a space heater. There are so many things wrong with this!

1. Do not say that Star was not paying attention! As her mother, you are still responsible for her every action, since she is only two and a half! Admit it...YOU were the one not paying attention!

2. I do not feel very comfortable having a space heater around small children. Especially turned on & in the same room where the child is playing. I understand that houses get cold, but there are certainly other solutions to this. My room gets very cold and Nikki said I could use her space heater, but I feel so uncomfortable having it on around Star that I just haven't used it!

[OK, I don't mean to sound so holier-than-thou on the parenting front, since I am not a parent. But I find myself startled and concerned about some of the choices she is making for her daughter. This is the girl who will soon be my step-daughter and whom I love very much. I am confronted by similar issues and am a lot less comfortable with the decisions I could have made, but which she has apparently made.]

AOL is acting weird now. So I will need to update later...

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga