Best Christmas Ever

Thursday, Dec. 26, 2002
7:57 a.m.

Yesterday was the best Christmas of my 26 years! I love being an almost step-mom to such an amazing, loving, intelligent, and happy little girl! She's probably the best thing that has ever happened to me (except maybe for falling in love with her daddy).

OK, so my day: Star woke up at 6:30 and climbed into bed with us. She asked where her mommy was and I got a horrible pang of jealousy because I wanted to be the mommy! A few minutes later, she had to go to the bathroom, so she & Greg disappeared for about half an hour. She's in the middle of toilet training and he's soooo patient with her! I made coffee, drank coffee, brought Greg some coffee, drank some more coffee, and waited for them. Then, I showed Star the plate where we had set out cookies for Santa. There were just crumbs and one cookie left with a bite taken out of it (thanks to me!)...and we both exclaimed that Santa had eaten the cookies. Then I told her to turn around and pointed out that Santa had brought her presents! Opening presents was sooooo fun! And she, of course, had to play with her Barbies straight away. Then, she & I played and then she ate breakfast and I took cute pictures. Then, she & Greg & I hung out for a couple of hours and we played with every single one of her toys. The train set I got her was fucking HUGE! Plus, Greg loved it, too!

We all jumped in the shower, one by one, got cleaned up, and then it started to snow. Snow on Christmas morning! Awesome!!! They were big, fat, clumpy, wet flakes. But when was the last time I ever saw snow on Christmas morning? Um, never???

We headed down to my mom's house & exchanged presents there. I got Ruby the same train set I got Star and she loooved it, too. Both of my sisters got into it, as well. The sets each came with 2 brown horses and 2 black bears (at least, that's what I think they are). When Greg & I were playing with Star's set, he joked that the train set needed an environmentalist picketing the railroad's destruction of the natural habitat of the brown horse & the black bear. I found the green person & said, "Here's the activist!" Well, I told Mere about that when she was playing with Ruby's set and she cracked up and I think it made her warm up to Greg more, which was nice.

(OK, I'm at work & I need to work...I'll add more to this entry later...)

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga