Strippers

Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2002
10:59 a.m.

After writing my entry last night, I started to get the willies, being at Greg's house, at night, by myself. So I grabbed my cell phone...I'm not sure who I was going to call. And there was a message from an hour earlier from Greg, saying his truck had broken down at the titty bar & could I come get him? So I called the number he called me from & it was his friend, Hot Keith, and Hot Keith gave me directions to this place. And it turned out it was a mile from where I used to live! And I never knew it was there! What the fuck???

Greg made me go inside for a minute to talk to Hot Keith and Bill (who is very very nice). And I think they're both bouncers there. But, the girls there...EW!!! They were really skinny, not my type, etc. So I was grossed out by them and, at the same time, I felt sorry for them. I'm all about women's empowerment on the sexual side of things, but for a woman to have to strip for money nauseates me. Why does a woman get stuck making money by using her body, instead of the preferred method of making money by using her brain (thank goodness I get paid to think! I'm one of the lucky ones!)? Why don't we value women enough to hire them in well-paying jobs where they can use their intelligence instead of their sexiness to get ahead? This just really really bothers me. And I'm not sure what the resolution should be. Change society? Fat chance! Close down titty bars? I have nothing against them (in theory, at least). Fire strippers? Make stripping illegal? Then they'll just be poor AND have little skills for making money. URGH!!!! I wish I knew the solution to this one!

So, I drove Greg to work this morning & I got to work exactly on time (which would be 8:00 AM), instead of getting here early, which I normally do. And 3 of my trainees were waiting for me! And some other folks (not them) were like, "They're waiting for you..." I had locked the training room door last night and they couldn't get in. Uh...I was ON TIME!!! Grrrrrrr.

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga