Time & Space to Think

Thursday, Sept. 19, 2002
10:56 p.m.

Here are some more thoughts, since I have some time & space to think this evening:

1. I was dating that guy, Andy, in college, when Smashing Pumpkin's "Landslide" came out. He decided that was our song (not sure why...) & it has always reminded me of him & the abortion & all of that wrapped up into one. The following summer, I discovered the genius of Stevie Nicks & fell in love with her original version even more. Now, the Dixie Chicks have a version of "Landslide" out. I heard it in the car earlier & then again just now. And I can't help but cry my eyes out. That song--no matter whose version--stabs me right in my soul.

2. Another song I heard earlier in the car was "Free Falling." We used to sing that in Young Life in high school (you remember, Fritz) & I have never heard a better version than 30 teenagers singing it. The way the guys' voices established a base & the girls' voices created this wonderful, lilting, traveling melody that seemed to run along on its own. I loved singing that song! Well, what song did I NOT like singing in Young Life? I think I went there to sing. Not that I have a fantastic voice or anything, but I just like to sing. I think I got this from my mom--our musical tastes are nearly identical at this point, because we are drawn to genres/songs that we can sing along to. Hahahaha!

3. Jessi, guess who called me a little bit ago, after being incognito all week! He's trying to come over tomorrow & "hang out" with just me. And try to get a piece, no doubt. I still don't know how I feel about that (i.e. "will I hook up with him or not?"). Hmmmm, at least he's clean!

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga