September 11th

Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2002
5:43 p.m.

Yes, I wore red, white, & blue to work today. And I drove with my headlights on all day. And I was astounded by the number of people at work who didn't wear red, white, & blue. Do they not care? It's a symbol of unity and patriotism (and I'm not a very patriotic person at that) & since we got a zillion work e-mails in the past week about today, you'd think some people would maybe care a little more. I know wearing the nation's colors is not a big deal & I sound really petty bitching about it, but it is a SYMBOL! And symbols are extremely powerful things!

We had a moment (2 minutes, really) of silence at 8:46. The entire ofice was so quiet--no talking, no typing, no phones ringing. It was surreal. I was waiting for something--anything--to happen. Waiting for a sign from God, waiting for our own demise, I don't know, just SOMETHING! But absolutely nothing happened--after 2 minutes, talking & typing & ringing phones started all over again. Maybe we should have a moment of silence every day...

My personal life is going through an insane amount of stress & bullshit right now, so I had no trouble being somber all day. This is normally a problem, because I'm often a little too over-chipper. So the anniversary, in combination with my horrible life, created a morose Mystical today. And that was fine.

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga