Nursing and Co-Sleeping

Wednesday, Apr. 06, 2005
3:05 p.m.

I'm building up my freezer stash. Our freezer has lots of little bags filled with breastmilk! Every night, I nurse Falcon all night on the left side. It's his all-night-open-bar! He loves it. In the morning, the right side is really really full. In fact, every single day, I can feel a vein poking out of the top of my boob...it's so creepy. So I pump just that side first thing (well, after I pee). And I've been getting 4 ounces or a little more, every single day. Pumping-wise, that's a very nice amount. For the past couple of days, Falcon has wanted to nurse while I'm pumping. Ack! It's a balancing act, because I can barely breastfeed with one hand, since my boobs are so big! And I have to hold onto the bottle and horn with one hand for the pumping. So I often prop the bottle against my leg and hope I don't lose suction, get him latched on, and scrunch over so my leg is supporting his head. It's killer on my back, but my baby is happy. And isn't that what it's all about? Well, at least right now!

Today, we went for a 3-mile walk with my mom at a very nice park nearby. There is a trail around a lake and people like to walk, bike, skate, etc. there. Then we went out to lunch at Subway with my brother.

I have nursed in public so many times now. I'm getting to be an hold pro! I nursed Falcon at the park...twice. And at Subway...twice. And that's just today.

Over the weekend, we moved Star's bed into our room. She wasn't sleeping in it anyway and the dogs have claimed it. So we pushed our king-sized bed up against the wall on my side and then pushed her bed right up to our bed on Greg's side. When she's not here, Greg uses that as his additional space! He told me that last night, he still ended up on the floor! I think there is no such thing as enough bed for Greg! And surprisingly enough, I like being against the wall. I have one comfortor rolled up agianst the wall to use as my back support. When I nurse Falcon at night, I lay half-way in between my back and my left side. It's a tough position to stay in, especially if you are also trying to sleep! So that comfortor props me up. And since he and I have worked out the mechanics of nursing lying down, we are both getting so much sleep! I don't even know how many times he wakes up during the night...I sleep through most of them. And those people who told me during the last 2 months of pregnancy to "get my sleep now because once the baby comes, you'll never sleep again" are sooooo fucking wrong! Obviously, those people are not co-sleepers (oh, wait, what's the correct term? Sleep sharing?). I sleep sooooooooo much better now than I did during my entire pregnancy. My advice to everyone: bring your baby into bed with you. No, you will not roll over on him. Even while sleeping, I know exactly where Falcon is, and it's usually scrunched up next to me, making me sweat!

OK, he's waking up now...

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga