LLL

Friday, Sept. 10, 2004
8:30 a.m.

OK, I went to a La Leche League Meeting on Tuesday evening. My mom was in it for years, I grew up with it, some of my best childhood friends were because both of our moms were in LLL. But, I found that I don't think it's for me. I so expected to find sisters there, women who think like me. But I was kind of turned off. I think that if women choose to breastfeed and don't have the support system of mothers, sister, aunts, etc, then they probably need the fellowship and support of other women. But I already have the support of my mom, my dad, my brothers, my sisters, and my husband. So, why would I need virtual strangers tell me I'm doing the right thing? Duh, I already know that. And I already have the "community" support built within my family. So, I wonder if there are other LLL girls out there who are now moms who have experienced the same thing. Sure, it's great to support other mothers, but I don't really think it's my calling.

Edema. Last night, after working all day and then running around in the evening with Greg & Star, I came home and thought, "Man, my leg and feet muscles really hurt!" I looked down and my ankles were so swollen. It was so revolting! Like, they didn't look like my limbs, but they must have been, because I was looking down on them. Gross! So, I tried lying on my side on the floor while watching Big Brother. But when that was over, I couldn't take it anymore, because there were chores I wanted to get done. So I did those, ankles be damned. Finally, I just went to bed & hoped 8 hours of lying down would cure it. I woke up in the middle of the night and not only were my ankles swolen, but so were my hands. Ugh!!! But, by morning, all was well. Man, pregnancy is so freaking weird!!!

I had a dream last night that I gave birth to two kittens and both of them were really tiny and they both had two heads. I put no merit in my dreams anymore, because they are just so floopy!!! I know I worry a little bit about birth defects, but then my brain takes it & twists it all around. But my brain doesn't have dreams about c-sections, gestational diabetes, and preeclampsia, which are the major things on my mind. Strange.

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga