Whatever is on my mind

Sunday, Sept. 07, 2003
2:05 p.m.

Nikki went away this weekend with Chris to go camping. It's been oddly quiet and a little lonely around here. It's not like Nikki's a loud person...she's the quietest one of us, but I miss her presence. This morning, our waiter asked where she was. Jimmy misses Nikki, too!

Anyway, I read in the paper this morning that some businesses are beginning to use blogs to communicate on projects, etc, to decrease paper and e-mail volumes. Isn't that an interesting idea? Maybe my employer should think about that. I'm so tired of the huge amounts of e-mail I get! It takes me at least 2 hours per day just to sort the e-mail (what to keep, what to throw away, what to respond to, what is just FYI)...it's really getting to be a headache. And I'm not one of the people who gets a ton of e-mails. The company I work for touts that it's an "e-business", but from the computer illiteracy in our office, I question how true that is. Most folks in my office wouldn't even begin to comprehend how to add information to a blog. I doubt they even know what a blog is!

The weather around here is awesome this weekend! It's the first break from the oppresive heat. I know, you wouldn't think Maryland is really that hot, but it is. Trust me...I hate Maryland summers. So, yesterday, Greg & I took the dogs for a walk that ended up being over 2 miles. It was soooo nice! We explored our neighborhood a little bit, got in a bit of exercise (trust me, everyone but Odin needed it), and really enjoyed it. Now that the weather is starting to cool off, I want to take an evening walk every day. The bike path (that runs from Annapolis to Baltimore) isn't very far from our house, so I think we should do some exploring along that sometime. I need to start working on more commands with Odin, too. Yesterday, I kept his leash very short and kept him on one side of me, and I made him sit before we crossed any street. In the next few days, I'll introduce "Heel" to him. I thought, get him used to what "taking a walk" feels like & then maybe the commands won't be so tough. We'll see how it goes...

[Awwww...while I was typing about Odin, he came up beside me & gave me a sad little look. Poor boy...he's been sick since Thursday evening & still isn't quite feeling up to par.]

I talked to my mom yesterday...all she wants to talk about now is the wedding, offering suggestions and such, followed by a "tell me if you don't want be to butt in". She's so funny! She wants a job to do! I told her to keep an eye out for cool-looking wedding rings. Well, years ago, she knew several people who were silversmiths (in addition to their other skills), so she's going to try to get in touch with them. I know one man (I hooked up with his son when we were in high school) who would probably give us a great deal on designing & forging (does silver get "forged" like other metals?) on our wedding bands. That would be really cool, having custom-designed wedding bands!

Did you know that football season is upon us? For the next few months, I will be a football widow. All day Sunday and Monday evenings will be just for me. Ugh...that kind of sucks. Right now, the Ravens are playing, so I should leave Greg alone. He shouts at the TV (not as much as my dad, though) and has weird rituals & superstitions of how much of the game he can watch, so even if I wanted to watch the entire game, his funny habits would prevent that. That's OK, though...I'm just a so-so football fan. I can take it or leave it (like a normal person!).

Oh, guess what! My mom & I talked about babies, too. Apparently, my sister, who is 12, is a little freaked out that Greg & I plan to try to have kids as soon as we get married. She's like, "By the time I'm 14, I'll have 2 nieces [Ruby and Star], and another niece or nephew?" Uh, yeah...that's what happens when your two sisters are 14 & 15 years older than you. My mom also told me that I was posterior [when most babies are born vaginally, they are facing their mom's spine; positerior babies are turned around & facing their mom's tummy] and her mother's first child was also posterior (born at home, i.e. on the farm in rural Indiana, in the 40's). Weird, huh? So, maybe my first will be posterior. Ugh...that position gives the mom a LOT of back pain. At least my coach has magic hands & can just rub my back for 24-96 hours (about the amount of time my mom's & sister's labor took, so it will probably be the same for me). My mom also said in order to avoid having really big babies (which run in both my family & in Greg's family), avoid all refined sugar during pregnancy. Oh, my God!!! Refined sugar is in everything!!!!!!!! That would suck...but maybe I could do it. Who knows? I think cutting back on refined sugar (at least by half) should have some impact, too. Don't you think? I'd hate to push out 10+ pounds of baby, which could happen, since Greg was over 10 lbs and I was 9 lbs 8 oz (this was before my mom knew to cut out refined sugar...later babies were less than 9 lbs, even though my brother was 10 lbs 5 oz). Some things to think on...

I was thinking today about designing business cards myself for Jimmy (Tattoo Jimmy, not waiter Jimmy). I'm pretty computer-savvy. I could scan some of his original artwork & design a card around that. Then buy paper stock (what's that, proably less than $10 for 100 sheets of paper, which would make 1000 business cards). Jimmy gives us such cut-rate deals and EVERYONE checks out Greg's Witchblade tattoo when we're in public. I'd love to push some business Jimmy's way.

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga