Credit Cards

Monday, Feb. 03, 2003
11:24 a.m.

First of all, I should probably make a comment about Columbia, since everyone seems to be doing so in their diaries. I think it's sad, but I wouldn't consider it a national tragedy...people die every day. It's sad, but it's life. Read Uncle Bob's comments. Something worth thinking about. Also, the space program is very underfunded. But that's almost beside the point. Everything is underfunded, except for military spending.

Second of all...what's the deal with a convenience store NOT accepting credit cards? Get with the times, people! There are 2 stores in the Baltimore area that do not accept credit cards...High's and Wawa. Folks, don't go to these stores. This is my personal campaign. Why would a store choose to NOT accept credit cards? By doing so, they are only attracting lower-class, poorer people (i.e. the ones who don't have credit cards) and chasing away middle-class folks (like myself, I hope) who do have credit cards. Why would you want to LOSE business??? I find this hard to comprehend? Well, since they obviously don't want customers like me (people who pay for almost everything by credit card), then they won't get my business. Some other company gets my business. A company that takes credit cards. A company that is "with the times".

And what's the deal with cash? It is SUCH a hassle! I have to make an extra trip to the ATM just to have cash in my purse. My paycheck is automatically deposited. I pay for everything with credit card or I write a check for bills. I should never have to carry cash! And the only time I do is for fast food. Fast food joints need to start accepting more than cash. I would frequent them more if they did. There they go again...losing my business to establishments that take credit cards. Do these businesses know how much money they are losing? I know I'm not the only one who feels this way.

I have a training class this morning. I only lectured for two or two and a half hours. Somehow, my lectures are getting shorter. Now my two trainees are working on their own, with lots of questions, of course. They will be with me in the training room, for the next 2 days, as well. Then I can send them on their merry way!

Oh, yes, these are the icebreaker questions they had to answer this morning:

1. Name

2. Describe your last job.

3. If you could live anywhere, where would you want to live and why?

4. If you could have one superpower, what would it be?

5. What's the most exotic food you've ever eaten?

6. What is your favorite kind of cookie?

7. If you rented a movie right now, what would you rent?

8. What is your favorite book of all time?

9. Regardless of cost, what is your dream car?

10. What are you looking forward to most in your new job?

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga