Christmas with Indiana parents

Monday, Dec. 09, 2002
9:08 a.m.

It turns out I'm on day 5 of a 6-day weekend. Nice!

So...my weekend:

On Friday evening, I headed over to Greg's house to pick him up. He was in a foul mood & snapped at me. Thank goodness Stacy called RIGHT THEN and she & I bitched about our men. Whew! What a release. After her phone call, I managed to get Greg cleaned up & we drove up to the Target near his house, which is where my (Target-whore) parents happened to be. They took us to a very nice dinner at Famous Dave's, which is a barbeque place I had never heard of until Friday night (I guess Dave's not so famous, eh?). They got to meet Greg, he got to meet them, Greg had ribs & didn't make a mess (which is a feat in and of itself), and my parents caught me up on the family gossip. Ugh...my family is fucked up...well, whose isn't?...but I happen to be one of the few who has my shit together. OK, maybe I just make it appear that my shit is together because I don't blab all my problems to my family...I just talk about them with strangers in the Internet. Grrrrreat!

Saturday morning, Dad & Holly took Mere & her daughter (my niece) to the food co-op and the grocery store and bought her tons of food. Oh, and my sister is so crazy weird...apparently, she bought a million different kinds of beans and several hunks of tofu (not the pretty shrink-wrapped kind, but the kind where you grab a pair of tongs and fish a hunk out of a huge pot), and whatever ultra-healthy vegan fare she likes.

Greg & I drove down to Greenbelt around noon & met them at their hotel suite. They ordered lunch for us from Friday's (apparently, they have a carryout...who knew?) & I ordered a yummy chicken quesadilla. Oh, and Mere cooked up 2 boxes of rice pilaf & ate it all. That girl can eat!!! And then we had Christmas! I got tons of clothes, some stuff for my car (you know, the kinds of things Dads buy for daughters), a super-yummy Yankee Candle (because I just became a Yankee candle convert last month), and a few other things...I forget. And my sister got clothes & I don't know what else. But they went bonkers with my niece! She had so many cool toys...a kid-sized rocker, play doh, 2 dolls (one of whom talks...I'm not sure how long that will last with my sister...hahahaha!), 2 stuffed animals, a million books, and gobs of other stuff. AND they got Greg a Ravens shirt & they got his daughter (who wasn't even there) a pair of jeans, a cute peasant top (something one of my kids should be wearing...and Greg & I loooove it!), a stuffed animal, books, crayons, bubbles, chalkboard & chalk. And they didn't even get to meet this kid! That just shows you they like to buy stuff for everyone!

Then, we played Trivial Pursuit...that 20th anniversary edition. And Holly & I both took time out to play with my niece.

Greg & I left around 5 or so, because they were taking Mere home. So I took Greg to dinner at Frank's diner and then we came back to my house, watched "Fight Club," and talked for HOURS about all kinds of stuff. Very awesome bonding sorts of things.

Sunday, Greg wanted to see his daughter, who was home sick, so I hung out with my parents on my own. So, they took me Target-shopping in the morning. And I picked out a few things...a robe, slippers, underwear, another shirt, and boring stuff (shampoo, conditioner, deoderant, etc). Then, we picked up Mere & niece at her church & we went to lunch at the strangest Pizza Hut I've ever been to. It was a carryout place & they JUST HAPPENED to have a dining room! So, we had to order at the counter and then when we got our pizzas, they were already in boxes, AND when we asked for plates, they gave us PAPER plates. Strange!

In the afternoon, we visited Arlington Cemetary. You know, I've lived in Maryland for 15 years and this is the first time I went there to visit? It was amazing!!! We saw JFK & Jackie's plot and it was so powerful! And I turned around after looking at their stones and noticed that they are up on a hill and they look straight into DC...straight down the road, across the bridge, and BOOM into the Lincoln Memorial. I hadn't expected that & it took my breath away!

We also trekked up to the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, which is always guarded by a soldier. That was also pretty amazing. It made me think about some things that aren't totally formed yet, so maybe I'll share them when they are.

In the evening, we took Mere home & my dad put together a bookcase they had bought her. And when we went to leave, my niece lunged to hug her PopPop a couple times. And that just brought tears to my eyes. Whew! They took me out to dinner & it was very nice just ME and THEM.

I headed back up to Greg's house & stayed the night with him. This morning, he said he dreamed about me all night, since I had cuddled with him throughout the night...AWWWWWW!

Now, I'm home and about to take my car to the carwash...it's covered in snow residue and SOMEONE (me!) spilled orange juice all over the inside yesterday. Hahahahahaha!

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga