Family Drama

Monday, Aug. 19, 2002
10:05 p.m.

Goodness! I managed to speak to all 4 of my parents this evening. I think this is an all-time first.

So much drama in my family (& it's not because of me, finally!)...my mom saw my sister and my niece last Friday. My niece (who is 22 months) is still not adapting well to day care. While at day care, she cries, does not eat, & does not speak. She's stressed out & is running herself ragged, just like her mother. My sister is having trouble keeping her weight up...personally, I think there are just not enough hours in the day for her to eat. Being a vegan & eating no sugar or refined flour and eating very few fats, she must eat A LOT of food just to keep her weight up. And, being a single mom, she just doesn't have enough time to get done what she needs to get done.

Well, my mom (being a mom & all) got a little upset & sent an e-mail to my dad, asking for help, advice, whatever. THIS IS BIG!!! My parents don't really need to communicate anymore, since both of their daughters are grown. And this is only the 3rd time since 1980 that she's had to contact him in this way (mind you, the first 2 times were in regard to my wild teenage behavior!).

Well, of course, my dad shared this e-mail with my step-mom, who called me at work today, asking what was going on with my sister. Well, I hadn't spoken to my mom in 2 weeks or more & I haven't spoken to my sister since June.

So, of course, I had to call my mom once I got home from work & ask her what's up. (And I spoke to my step-dad for awhile, too.) Apparently, she's VERY VERY worried. Then, I had to call my step-mom & we ended up talking for quite a while. And then, I had to call my dad (he's on some business trip or something) & we ended up talking for an hour or more. We tend to do that a lot lately...

Well, my dad had to share all this other drama regarding my cousin & her dipshit father & our evil grandmother. My uncle is trying to manipulate my cousin into kissing my grandmother's ass. Trust me...this is not the best thing, because she's very manipulative & if you have ANY kind of relationship with her, she will twist your words around & make you feel guilty AND look like the bad guy. The best course of action with her is NO COMMUNICATION!!! She pissed me off for the last time when I was 18 & I've probably spoken to her only once since then (and that was 8 years ago).

So, now I'm emotionally exhausted, hearing about my sister and my poor cousin. Whew!

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga