I Hate HIPAA

Tuesday, Jan. 21, 2003
1:17 p.m.

I had one of my recurring revelations this morning: once the government gets involved, everything turns toward the ridiculous.

This morning was HIPAA training. Well, the first of about 13 sessions over the next 6 weeks. HIPAA stands for Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act and covers, in part, privacy of health information. Sounds well & good, right? I mean, I don't want any old schmoe knowing about my health information. This should be common fucking sense! Sure, let's make sure the wrong people don't get any confidential info. But now that the government has passed oodles of regulations, etc, and the big bad corporate office has implemented policies, it turns into such retarded-ness. We have to do x, y, z when answering a phone call. And t,u,v when speaking to someone in person. If the situation is this, do this. If the situation is that, do that. If it's Wednesday and the moon is in Capricorn and you are 5'2", then do the other. What unnecessary chaos! How about: Everyone act like an intelligent individual! I know it's tough for the majority of motherfucking morons in this country, but just grow up, people! Accept accountability for your actions! In fact, accept accountability for someone else's actions! (Something along the lines of good parenting, but that's another point.) Here's how I see this: the government has to step in and "least common denominator"-ize everything. Just because some folks are so fucking stupid!!! (And yes, some of them DO work at this company, though, thankfully, not in my department!)

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga