Day 2 of Training

Wednesday, Aug. 21, 2002
5:26 p.m.

Day 2 of Training

Things went pretty well today. We went over insurance forms (the kinds the doctors & hospitals send to the insurance companies)--HCFA's & UB's. Also, the structure of CPT coding, ICD-9 coding, place of service coding. Coding, coding, coding (thank goodness they're not examiners...we'd have had days and days of this shit!). Learned how to use L****, which is the e-mail we use at work. Showed them cute little tricks, like how to change your letterhead, etc. I felt like such a computer geek, WHICH I'M NOT!!! I had them watch a cheesey-ass customer service video. And believe it or not, they were less bored than I was!

This afternoon, we started in on M*****, which is the system we use for documentation, etc. They had fun using their "Training" logons (Poison Ivy, Austin Powers, & Doctor Evil) and practiced sending each other M***** e-mails. S____ (aka Poison Ivy) really got into character & sent Doctor Evil an e-mail about how she had an evil plan to get rid of Austin Powers! It was soooo cute!

They also got a chance to see our benefit plan matrix on our work Intranet. Everyone at work loves this (including me) and the trainees were very pleased and surprised with how awesome it was. I gave them an exercise where they had to look up benefits on their own. They did very very well.

Also, first thing this morning, I gave them an open-book review quiz, covering yesterday's info. They did very well on that, too! We then played a game where S____ wrote on the board everything all 3 of them remembered from yesterday's training. They remembered sooooo many things!!! I'm so proud (and relieved)!!!

Once I got them out the door at 3:30, my boss (an ex-trainer and a trainer-at-heart herself) stopped in & we talked about how it was going and she just offered me a lot of positive encouragement. That felt great!!! I hope these trainees walk away from my training class knowing tons of stuff!!! This class will really be a reflection on my training skills!

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga