My Trip

Tuesday, Apr. 26, 2005
2:56 p.m.

I don't feel like re-writing this, so here's what I posted on the BB I'm addicted to:

We're back! Falcon and I had an awesome weekend with my parents, sisters, BIL's, nieces, nephews, and extended family!

Traveling-wise, I found that the only thing I really truly needed was the sling! It made it much easier to carry him through the airport, although I did have to remove it for security, which was a PITA. It also gave me privacy to BF him, which was great! The plane trip out there, he nursed for pretty much the entire flight. On the way back, though, he only wanted to BF once.

I also found that if you check the car seat, then it's one of the last luggage items put on the plane. Therefore, it's one of the first off the plane. I checked the car seat and one suitcase and on both flights, and they were within the first 3 or 4 pieces of luggage on the conveyor belt. Woohoo!

I had help on both ends with luggage and getting bags checked. DH dropped me off & picked me up in Baltimore. And my parents picked me up & dropped me off in Indy. There is NO WAY I could have handled Falcon, his car seat, my backpack, my suitcase, and my diaper bag (which was living in a rolling briefcase for the duration of the trip)!

I also found that pre-boarding is the BOMB! I liked being part of the parents and kids crowd that got priority treatment! We also snagged the first 3 rows of the plane (we were flying SW & they don't have assigned seating).

Otherwise, the trip was awesome! I got to see two of my cousins who I have not seen since 1986! It was great to see them! Plus, I got to see my 2 sisters who live out there, and their kids. My 2-year-old niece fell in love with Falcon!

My parents renewal vows were amazing! They started off with some country song (it's popular now & it's like "Someone had a hand in bringing us together"...what song is that, country fans?) and a slideshow of pictures of them and us 4 girls, plus now our spouses and kids. And they were pics of from the past 25 years. And my 2 sisters who who were there and I were crying our eyes out. And we lit a Unity candle with our parents. They said some vows to us girls and then the pastor read what they had written about each other (they had an assignment where they had to write about what they loved about the other). And they said their vows again. And then they played a Shania Twain song with more pics (including ones of her mom, who passed away a few years ago, and his dad, who passed away in 1984). And I just cried and cried and cried because they love each other so much and I feel so lucky to have such an amazing step-mother (I hate putting "step" in front because she really is just like a mother to me!).

And then they had a reception at their house. And I got to catch up with my sisters and my cousins. My sister, Casey, pretty much stole Falcon and told me I had to move into her neighborhood and she would watch him every day while I'm at work. She was so great with him, too (her girls are 6 and 2, so I'm not surprised)...in fact, he fell asleep on her. Awwwww...

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga