6 Week PP Appointment

Monday, Mar. 28, 2005
4:49 p.m.

I had my 6 weeks Post Partum appointment today. I cannot believe I've been a mommy for 6 weeks now! Yaaaay! OK, I had lots of thoughts on the way home about what to write:

1. While we were in the waiting room, Falcon had to nurse twice. He was so funny! And he's often such a noisy nurser...between the smacking lips sound and the pooping and farting he likes to do! I'm glad I was in the midwife's office, with a couple of other pregnant women around. I mean, in that setting, isn't breastfeeding perfect?

2. Sitting next to me on the couch was a very young lady who was 6 months pregnant. By very young, I mean 18-22...LOL! Her best friend was with her and reading to her about the signs of impending labor. You know, like, getting a burst of energy, diarrhea, flu-like symptoms, etc. She was like, "Greeeeeeeat." Should I have told her it's better to poop at home, early on? That she won't necessarily get all of those symptoms? That labor is waaaaay more exhausting than you plan for it to be? Also, she said she was going to have her son circumcised and I felt soooo bad for that child! Should I have told her the reasons NOT to have her son circumcised? I mean, I was already an advretisement for breastfeeding? Should I have gone on, with all of my granola-mommy ideas?

3. During the checkup, the midwife was like, "Have you had sex yet?" I replied, "Yes. Twice last week." (Never mind the times prior to that!) I was expecting a lecture, but she instead said, "Was it good?" Hahahahaha! Well, YEAH! That was so funny!!!

4. I had to try to fit my own diaphragm. Ugh! They suck! I think I tried to get the damn thing in about 29 times and I just could not do it!!! So it looks like we're back to Natural Family Planning. Well, once I return to work. I think since I'm breastfeeding on demand right now, I'm pretty much covered.

5. Since my 42-week checkup, I have lost 38 pounds. Woohoo! I only have about 4 to go to get to my pre-pregnancy weight. And I have 29 to go until my goal!

6. Falcon weighs about 13 pounds. Man, I have a large child!!! I just looked that up and he's at about the 95th percentile for weight. Hahahahaha!

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga