Dream and Kids

Thursday, Mar. 17, 2005
12:11 p.m.

I had a dream last night that I took Falcon in to work to see everyone. And I also took Star. And my three other stepdaughters, Tania's girls. And my other daughter, D, who is really our neighbor's kid. Oh, my! I had so many kids!

Before I even got to the office, D was so crabby and I said, "Do you want lovies?" Lovies are secret code for nursing. And she was so crabby but she shook her head "yes" and once I latched her on, she was so happy.

Once I got to the office, I discovered that the little corner where my department is had been converted into a HUGE playroom. I guess the company took my suggestion that they have in-house childcare? Also, all of the cubicles has been refurbished and were a pretty purple color. Then Stupid Trainer gave me a "happy motherhood" gift. It was a horrible ugly green pantsuit with a button-up shirt. I was thinking, "Is she retarded? I'm a nursing mother. There's no way my boobs will fit into that thing!"

In the awake world, Falcon was still sick yesterday. He threw up several more times. But he was still peeing and pooping, so I wasn't super-stressed. And he never felt like he got a fever. He nursed in short little increments yesterday...like he got just enough milk to stay hydrated, but not much of the heavy milk that he would end up throwing up later. What a smart little baby! He knew what he needed. Too bad his mommy was trying to shove boob in his face at every turn.

Also, in the morning, I felt baaaaad. I was freezing for about 2 hours and crying for my mom. I turned the heat up REALLY high and snuggled under this one really hot blanket we have. Plus I was wearing Falcon in his sling. And I was still cold!

Then, all of a sudden, I was hot as shit! I started sweating, I had to turn the heat alllll the way back down, get rid of the blanket, take off my socks, put my hair up, take my shirt off. Yeah, finally when I took my shirt off, I stopped sweating so much. But I must have looked great...walking around the house in sweatpants and a nursing bra! That's a great look!

Last night, during the middle of the night, I think Falcon started to feel better. He woke up at 1 AM and wanted to nurse immediately! I decided he was done after 30 minutes, but he cried for more, so I switched him to the other side, where he nursed for an additional 15 minutes. I guess he was hungry!!! He awoke again at 5 AM and nursed for a little bit. Then he unlatched and was a little bit asleep, but not much. So I didn't really want to move him, because I knew he would wake up and I would have to nurse him back to sleep again. He decided he wanted to sleep draped across me with his face shoved into my boob! He was soo funny! He and I slept in until 7:30, in that same position, and when we finally got up, I noticed that the entire side of his head was really wet. I guess I had leaked on him while he was sleeping there! Too funny! It's good that he doesn't care! He probably likes it...it smells like Mommy.

He got another shower this morning and at one point, he got some water in his throat. He threw his hands back, trying to catch his breath, and he gave me this horrible look like, "Mom, how could you do this to me?" I felt so bad!!! But he caught his breath and then whined a little. But then I washed him and put him back under the water and he was happy again.

OK, I have to admit that I don't know how moms do it. I can barely manage to get anything done during the day! Granted, the first two days on my own, I've been sick and I've been caring for a sick baby. But all I managed to do yesterday was wash two loads of clothes. And I washed some dishes once Greg got home. Today, I paid the bills. I can't figure out how to wash dishes while wearing a sling. I feel bad, because it's such an easy chore. And there's so much crap laying around the house that needs to find a home. Greg sucks at that, so I have to do it. And I can only carry so much at one time, so I feel like even if I try to put stuff away, all I do is run up and down the stairs 18 thousand times. Ugh. And if I tell Greg to do it, he forgets. Like, last night, when I went to bed, I asked him to bring the diaper bag up with him. I like to keep it next to my side of the bed so I can do a quick diaper and clothes change in bed, instead of getting up (smart, huh?). Where was it this morning? Still in the living room. Ugh. It's so pointless to ask him to do anything. He's so forgetful. Oh, wait, he's a man. What can I expect?

I shouldn't complain about Greg. If forgetfulness is his worst fault, then I've got a winner!

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga