Birth Announcements

Saturday, Mar. 05, 2005
5:17 p.m.

This mommy thing is slowly getting easier. Well, I shouldn't say mommy thing. Being a mommy is easy. Loving and adoring my baby is simple, changing his diaper, bathing him, keeping him in clean clothes is all a breeze. I should say breastfeeding is getting easier. Not all at once. But little bit by little bit. When he nurses a lot, then it gets really easy. So I'm graduating from sore nipples to engorgement. My one nip is still healing up and it looks like it should still hurt, but it doesn't really. Well, unless I am really tired, but by that point, my entire body aches. Now the nipples hurt less and the rest of the boobs hurt more. I hate when Falcon doesn't nurse for 4+ hours. Oh, I'm in so much pain! No, not pain...more like achiness or soreness. But during his fussy times when he really needs mommy and he nurses on and off for 2+ hours straight, I'm in heaven. Oh, they don't hurt then! It's so pleasant! Since I have so much milk right now, I decided not to pump for a few days. I think it's fucking with my supply. My body is still trying to figure out how much milk to make and I need to get out of its way. I will have several weeks, once my supply has been established, to pump milk for returning to work.

Don't you love reading about my breastfeeding adventures? I swear, that's all I'm about lately!

Oh, I did have sex again 2 days ago. It was less unpleasant than the time before. But I wouldn't have really considered it fun. It was kind of like those first few times when I was 14 and had very little clue about what I was doing. Sure, I felt empowered and cool. But I didn't necessarily get any physical pleasure out of it. This time around, I was a little worried about busting a stitch! That was have really sucked!!!

Oh, speaking of stitches...my external stitches look fucking amazing! You can barely tell anyone cut into me! Hair has started to grow over it, so once that comes in, it will be invisible. Well, even if hair didn't grow over it, it would be near invisible. My midwife said Dr. L was a surgeon first and then decided to become an ob/gyn. You can tell that man loves to do surgery! And he's good at it, too! If I ever get my tubes tied or need some sort of female surgery done, I would seriously consider going to him!

Oh, I was designing Falcon's birth announcements earlier. I was looking at some online and they seemed so ridiculously expensive. There were even ones that you could print out on your own computer (cool) but you still had to pay for them. What?!?!?! What kind of shit is that? At that point, I decided to design my own. I used the fairy mommy & baby picture you see over there and made it into a folded-card format. Now I just have to buy some paper (I only have printer coversheets from work...save the trees!) and some envelopes. Well, stamps, too. How much will that cost? Very little, I'm sure, and I will have original announcements.

P.S. Do my entries seem scatterbrained to anyone else? When I type them, they make perfect sense, but when I reread them, I sound like I'm all over the place. Is motherhood eating my brain?!?!?!

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga