Long Labor

Friday, Feb. 11, 2005
5:59 p.m.

I am still alive...and at home. I have been having contractions steadily since Wednesday night.

This morning, at about 1 AM, Greg and I went to the midwive's office. Janine, my favorite one, checked me out and said I was 90% effaced, but still 2 cm dilated. I was like, "Are you kidding me?" And she explained that with a lot of first-time moms, it takes 24 hours to efface and THEN they could start dilating. Since my cervix has never been open like this, it's doing its job really slowly.

So, we came back home and slept, on and off, for about 9 hours. I am really surprised how easily both Greg and I can sleep between contractions. And then fall right back to sleep between them! While I was sleeping, they were also further apart, about 10-20 minutes apart, rather than the 5 or so minutes they get to while I'm awake.

Today, I've been on my feet most of the day, trying to get gravity to help me along. Falcon's head on my cervix is supposed to help open it up. I've also found that contractions are so much easier to handle while I'm walking or at least standing up. So, it's obvious my body wants me to be upright!

In the past 24 hours, I have fallen asleep twice in the bathtub and taken a 45-minute nap each time! I love the bath, because it totally kills all the pain from the contractions. It's like magic, really. I mean, I'm able to fall asleep without even trying!

I've also noticed that I hate the toilet. You know how in Third World countries, instead of a toilet, they have a hole in the ground and one squats over it to do one's business? I think they've got the right idea! Squatting is a much more comfortable position than sitting. I can't really deal much with sitting. I really just want a hole in the bathroom floor. I'd even have an adjustable squat bar added, to hold on to or to lean on. That would be nice.

Also, while I've been laboring, I've been thinking about my crazy sister. She labored like this for four days, at home, by herself. I'm such a wacko that the only thing I think is weird is that she was BY HERSELF! For some of these contractions, the only relief I can find is Greg's touch. Sure, he's got an insane amount of power in his hands and he's very connected to his gifts. But I'm thinking that touch from anyone would suffice now. How did she go through labor ALONE?

I think we may go back to the midwife/birthing center in the middle of the night tonight. Or maybe even tomorrow. I'm OK with not rushing this labor, since I'm still able to get rest. And Greg doesn't look very concerned, either. It's excellent to have someone who is on the same page as me! He trusts my intuition and doesn't freak out, either. I think I'm lucky to have a husband who has been through this before. And who is cool with the whole laboring process, as long as it may take.

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga