LABOR!!!

Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
8:45 a.m.

Guess who has been having paiful contractions since 9:30 last night?

That's right! ME!!!

I was able to sleep some during the night. In fact, contractions stopped for an hour twice during the night. And at some points, Greg said I was waking up for the contraction and once it was over, he heard me snoring again. Sweet! I didn't think I would be one of those people who can sleep during the rest period, but I guess I am.

At 4:30 this morning, while sitting in the tub, they were 3 minutes apart and lasting about 50 seconds.

Now they're about 5 minutes apart and lasting 60 seconds.

The midwives say to call them when they get to 5 & 60 and have been like that for an hour. I think that's a little early to call, so I'm just going to trust my gut today. We'll go to the birthing center when it feels right to me. I don't want labor to slow down just because I have changed locations. So I'm going to stay in the comfort and familiarity of my own house for as long as possible.

I called my mom around 7:00 and said, "I think today is a birthday. You don't have to do anything yet. But I'll be calling you later." She was so pragmatic...didn't get emotional or excited or anything. She was like, "OK, here's what I'm going to do this morning. Call me on my cell phone or my work phone. And I will see you later today." That was nice...I liked how she was all business.

Oh, and right now, my favorite position during a contraction is to be standing up and walking around. I read that helps to speed up labor, too. So, yaaaaay! It seems like that's the only position where I can get any comfort. [So while I've been typing this, I think I had to stand up about 4 times!]

I think this is for real...it's been close to 12 hours of contractions. I think that's a little long for false labor, don't you?

past - future

Miss One?

Moving On - Wednesday, Sept. 05, 2007
I remembered my password - Friday, Jul. 20, 2007
I need someone - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
I miss him - Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006
Possibly the worst weekend of my life? - Sunday, Apr. 16, 2006

baby gaga